.Google.

Twitter

.:Google:.

8
Jun
2009

Doctors of Bangkok

The owner of the food stall next door, where he prepares and sells boiled chicken, likes dogs. Whenever I see him, he plays with the stray dogs. And whenever I go to his stall and order he stops playing with the dogs and prepares the chicken with bare and unwashed hands. This miay be the reason, why, whenever I eat there, I have to see the doctor. Last time I even had to stay in hospital because of severe food poisoning including an infection to the abdominal wall. Three days in a private but definitely not one of the top Bangkok hospitals summed up to 47.000 Baht. Quite a lot. The actual treatment and accommodation was not the most expensive but the medication. And they prescribed me everything. Just a couple of weeks a had slight food poisoning again. They immediately gave me a drip with antibiotics. Then they checked my blood and found out that there was actually no infection at all. Still they prescribed me tons of antibiotics, cortisone, painkillers, dietary supplement and stuff, but I refused. Still they bill was a little more than 10.000 Baht –for just one day!

Another time I went to Ko Chang and while swimming I cut my foot. Back in Bangkok I tried to cure it myself and put Tiger Balm on it of which no I know I am allergic against.
The allergic reaction was enormous and I showed up in hospital again. The doctor hardly checked on me. No blood check. Instead she prescribed me cortisone to deal with the inflammation and strong antibiotics against an infection that had not been there at all. Also I had to come back every day for the next week to get acid dressings. All of this had been completely unnecessary.
Some closer examination and a couple of questions about my medical history would have been enough to save me a lot of money. But this is obviously not on the mind of the doctors.
I rather got the impression that most of the hospitals and clinics are rather extended pharmacies, where they just try to get as much of their merchandise as possible over the counter.

The wellbeing of the patient -or in this case rather customer- is rather in the background.
I even came across a Bangkok doctor who prescribed me high dosed cortisone for over six months. Though I asked him a couple of times about the ingredients of his pills he stayed elusive.
Most of the times doctors in Bangkok don´t tell you about the medication they prescribe. They just tell you what it is good for but leave out the part with the side effects. Also, most of them just cure the symptoms but almost never try to work out a proper diagnosis to really cure the medical problem.
Thai people seem to like it. If some medicine works, they are happy. Unfortunately, it doesn´t cure they disease.

Pretty symptomatic for many issues in Thailand.

Tags:
Jessica Flores

Jessica Flores

:Google:

Topics

Suche

 

Aktuelle Beiträge

What people write about...
Somehow I really like it when people write about me,...
Jessica Flores - 12. Jun, 13:46
Watch out, Southeast...
Sometimes, people really annoy me. Stupid remarks,...
Jessica Flores - 12. Jun, 13:43
No dumping dead bodies...
No dumping dead bodies here! That`s what a sign reads,...
Jessica Flores - 10. Jun, 11:58
Doctors of Bangkok
The owner of the food stall next door, where he prepares...
Jessica Flores - 8. Jun, 19:37
Thailand: Buakaw Por....
Thai kick boxer Buakaw Por.Pramuk is going for it again...
Jessica Flores - 6. Jun, 12:33

Isaan Country
Rocking SEA
Rolling with the BMTA
Sound of Sirenz
Thai Food Diet
Travel
Videos
Weird Thailand
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren